top of page


Commercial Refrigerators and Freezers V.5.0

Commercial refrigerators and freezers shall meet the specified criteria to achieve the ENERGY STAR® certification following the specification in Version 5.0.

Effective immediately, manufacturers may certify their eligible products to the Version 5.0 requirements. Current ENERGY STAR® certifications will remain valid until December 22, 2022.

As of December 22, 2022, commercial refrigeration products must fulfill Version 5.0 requirements to bear the ENERGY STAR® mark.

Test Methods

When testing commercial refrigerators and freezers, the following methods are to determine the ENERGY STAR® certification:

  1. 10 CFR Part 431, Subpart C, Appendix B

  2. Daily Energy Consumption (DEC), Refrigerated Volume (V), and Total Display Area (TDA)


0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page